No vacation nation – Confucius don’t play that!

I posted a CNN article on my company’s internal messaging system entitled “No Vacation Nation” which describes how the US lags behind other countries in terms of guaranteeing vacation days. One person from the UK sort of refuted the article (I don’t know if they were bragging that they worked as much?), but the other response I got was from our CEO. The reply stated “If you love your job, you never work a day in your life”. Confucius, I believe. At first, I thought ‘how callous. do they not see that we’re overworked and underappreciated?!’. But on second thought, maybe this was a favor. Because, honestly, I don’t love my job. And I am working. You see, I don’t want to do that. I want to be in love with my job. Or better yet, I want to be in love with what I do with my time. So thanks CEO, you motivated me today.

Leave a Reply

