Positive Thinking

Monthly, I listen to “The Strangest Secret” by Earl Nightingale. Originally I had been listening to it once every 2 or 3 months, but you really have to ramp things up and shorten time frames if you want a real change (Parkinson’s Law). So monthly isn’t enough… to apply the ideas. I’ve started using Tim Ferris’ book to help me make the changes I want to see in my life. I don’t want to bitch… but I may just a little since this is the start of my blog. 

I don’t think I can work for anybody anymore. I can work WITH people, but that’s quite different. Too much bureaucracy and people who simply like to prey on other’s weaknesses because they can. And I don’t understand 9-5. Never have. I walk around the office and see so many people not working. So why have this enormous building? Pride? Greed? I’m complaining about the “Man”, who I am on the path to be. But why? Why this pull to be ‘them’? Our president drives an Aston Martin worth $250,000. The CMO has a Ferrari Spyder. I hate that I can get drawn into wanting these things. And that somehow I should feel bad in today’s society if I don’t drive/acquire certain things along the way. I can only assume that this is more Western than Eastern. But I have no illusion that the Chinese are living it up.

To overcome all of this is imperative that I employ positive thinking. Otherwise, I’m going to take a sledge hammer to my company’s cappuccino machine. It’s hard for me though, as I am sure that it is for many. I can get depressed and I’m constantly second guessing myself. 

🙂

Leave a Reply

