The Movie

maxresdefault

I have no doubt that you all agree with me and that every one of you have a soundtrack playing in your mind everywhere you go. I jump in the car and find the perfect playlist. Is it a Cure day? U2? Metallica? Beastie Boys? Ooh! or Miles Davis. Nah, Blink 182.

Like a scene from the Breakfast Club or American Pie, I imagine an anthem automatically begins as I walk triumphantly out of the office, onto the soccer pitch (or anywhere, really)… don’t, don’t, don’t you, forget about me! Someday I will walk out of my office building, pump my fist to the sky, and begin again.

Until then…

A lyric coming to mind lately is from Jim Morrison’s “The Movie”. It’s a pretty dark poem, but two specific lines have been running through my mind that are more illuminating to me than depressing:

Did you have a good world when you died?
Enough to base a movie on?

Legacy. How will I be remembered? Do I care? Is love more important than security? I’ve heard a lot of rants about legacy and my ear has been bent towards the evangelicals preaching the message. I think men of a certain age (women too) begin to consider about how they will be remembered, outside of the day to day. As we age and mortality sinks in, it’s a natural progression to bounce down the path of “who gives a shit?”. And I think this is the tipping point in our lives where the accumulation of “things” transforms into the accumulation of “moments”. It’s the moments in movies that grab us the most, right? Give us something to ponder, something to be pissed at, make us strong, motivated, …make us human. Catharsis! Come on, it’s what all people on a path want.

I honestly can not think of a single great movie that I’ve watched where afterwards, I wanted to go and buy something. Although I felt like I could kick some ass after the Karate Kid! I need to make a list of these movies. I have a shortlist, but nothing comprehensive.

I do, however, keep a list of characters I identify with (scroll all the way down: http://crawdaddy597.tumblr.com/). It’s a cool intellectual exercise to go through the faces and try to understand why I assign certain parts of my own psyche to these characters. Most make sense: Han Solo, Connor MacLeod, Ben Finnegan, anything Jason Statham does. But why do I relish in the depths of Don Draper? The Godfather? Tyler Durden? Rust Cohle? Those are more subtle and disturbing. What part of ME is in THEM? What part of THEM, is in ME?

Any-who. Lots of questions. And who am I kidding, I know EXACTLY why Tyler Durden is appealing. I am Jack’s complete lack of surprise.

For effect, here are the lyrics for The Movie. I highly recommend listening to the entire album…with headphones on (Jim whispers in your ear).

The movie will begin in five moments
The mindless voice announced
All those unseated will await the next show.

We filed slowly, languidly into the hall
The auditorium was vast and silent
As we seated and were darkened, the voice continued.

The program for this evening is not new
You’ve seen this entertainment through and through
You’ve seen your birth your life and death
you might recall all of the rest
Did you have a good world when you died?
Enough to base a movie on?

I’m getting out of here
Where are you going?
To the other side of morning
Please don’t chase the clouds, pagodas

It’s alright; all your friends are here
When can I meet them?
After you’ve eaten
I’m not hungry
Uh, we meant beaten

Silver stream, silvery scream

Oooooh, impossible concentration.

Leave a Reply

